Travel Traffic Light System – Return to the UK

Strict rules on testing and quarantine are in place based on the Traffic Light System as set out by the UK government classifying countries as Green, Amber or Red. You will need to follow different regulations, depending on which country you are returning from. Find out more about the Travel Traffic Light System Here.


The UK governments Travel Traffic Light System only relates to the inbound leg of your journey. That is the return to the United Kingdom requirements. You will need to check both your destination, and the United Kingdom’s test requirements to ensure you have all the required tests need for travel.

The Travel Traffic Light System will be replaced on the 4th of October 2021, when the green and amber list will merge to form a single list. 

Please note, these are guidelines designed to assist you in understanding the test requirements, they are not intended to replace any UK government or international guidance. Please check all local and international government travel websites before purchasing your tests to ensure the correct tests are selected on checkout. 

Summary of Requirements for Green, Amber and Red Return to the UK

Green List Country
Amber List Country
Red List Country
Return to the UK Test Rapid Antigen Rapid Antigen (PCR Advised when returning from Spain) Rapid Antigen
Passenger Locator Form Required Required Required
Quarantine Not Required

10 days at home (No quarantine for fully vaccinated travellers or those under the age of 18)

10 days at Hotel
PCR Testing On or before day 2 after return to the UK On or before day 2 and on day 8* after return to the UK On or before day 2 and on day 8 after return to the UK
Test-to-Release Not Required PCR on day 5 (optional, England only) Not Allowed 

* Fully Vaccinated travellers and people under the age of 18 returning from Amber List countries are not required to quarantine or perform the Day 8 PCR test, but must still perform pre-departure testing required by the destination country, a return to the UK test prior to travelling to the UK and a PCR test on Day 2. From 4 October 2021, fully vaccinated travellers will not be required to take a test prior to to travelling to England(not applicable to Scotland and Wales). 


List of Countries as per the UK Government website 

Last Updated: 17 September 2021


The list below has been updated to reflect the changes as indicated by the UK Government on 17 September 2021 to come into effect on 22 September 2021 at 4am. Should you be travelling to these countries before 22 September 2021 at 4am, please ensure you abide by the destination’s current traffic light status. You can check the latest gov.uk list here

Green List
Amber List
Red List
Anguilla (Green watchlist) Akrotiri and Dhekelia Afghanistan
Antigua and Barbuda (Green watchlist) Albania Angola
Australia  Algeria Argentina
Austria  Andorra Bolivia
Barbados (Green watchlist) Armenia Botswana
Bermuda (Green watchlist) Aruba Brazil
British Antarctic Territory (Green watchlist) Azerbaijan Burundi
British Indian Ocean Territory (Green watchlist) Bahrain Cape Verde
Brunei  Balearic islands (Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca) Chile
Bulgaria Bangladesh (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am) Colombia
Canada Belarus Congo (Democratic Republic)
Cayman Islands (Green watchlist) Belgium Costa Rica
Croatia (Green watchlist) Belize Cuba
Denmark  Benin Dominican Republic
Dominica (Green watchlist) Bhutan Ecuador
Falkland Islands Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Eritrea 
Faroe Islands Bosnia and Herzegovina Eswatini
Finland British Virgin Islands Ethiopia
Germany Burkina Faso French Guiana
Gibraltar Cambodia Georgia
Grenada (Green watchlist) Cameroon Guyana
Hong Kong Central African Republic Haiti 
Iceland Chad Indonesia
Latvia  China Lesotho
Liechtenstein Comoros Malawi
Lithuania  Congo Mayotte 
Madeira Cook Islands, Tokelau and Niue Mexico 
Malta  Côte d’Ivoire Mongolia 
Montserrat (Green watchlist) Curaçao Montenegro
New Zealand Cyprus Mozambique
Norway  Czech Republic (Czechia) Myanmar (Burma)
Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green watchlist) Djibouti Namibia
Romania Egypt (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am) Nepal
Singapore El Salvador Panama
Slovakia  Equatorial Guinea Paraguay
Slovenia  Estonia Peru
South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands Fiji Philippines
St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha France Réunion
Switzerland  French Polynesia Rwanda
Taiwan (Green watchlist) Gabon Seychelles
The Azores  Ghana Sierra Leone
Turks and Caicos Islands (Green watchlist) Greece (including islands) Somalia
  Greenland South Africa
  Guadeloupe Sudan
  Guatemala Suriname
  Guinea Tanzania
  Guinea-Bissau Thailand
  Honduras Trinidad and Tobago
  Hungary Tunisia 
  India Uganda
  Iran Uruguay
  Iraq Venezuela
  Italy Zambia
  Jamaica Zimbabwe
  Kenya (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am)  
  Maldives (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am)  
  Marshall Islands  
  New Caledonia  
  North Korea  
  North Macedonia  
  Oman (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am)  
  Pakistan (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am)  
  Papua New Guinea  
  Portugal (excluding the Azores)  
  San Marino  
  Sao Tome and Principe  
  Saudi Arabia  
  Solomon Islands  
  South Korea  
  South Sudan  
  Spain including the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands (Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca)  
  Sri Lanka (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am)  
  St Kitts and Nevis  
  St Lucia  
  St Maarten  
  St Martin and St Barthélemy  
  St Pierre and Miquelon  
  St Vincent and the Grenadines  
  The Bahamas  
  The Gambia  
  The Occupied Palestinian Territories  
  Turkey (As of Wednesday 22 September 2021 at 4am)  
  United Arab Emirates (UAE)   
  United States (USA)  
  Wallis and Futuna  
  Western Sahara  

Note: Green watchlist are countries currently on the green list but at risk of changing to amber list with little warning.

Please note, these are only guidelines to designed to assist you, they are not intended to replace any UK government or international guidance. Please check all local and international government travel websites before purchasing your tests to ensure the correct tests are selected on checkout. 

In accordance to the Terms set forth in the Terms of Use, Medical Assured Group trading as Breathe Assured is not liable for purchase of incorrect tests, the processing of test kits and samples, and rejection of test results by any government authorities. As the devices are for medical purposes, we are unable to accept returns and therefore cannot offer refunds.

Please order your test at least 5 business days before departure.

togel online bonus new member togel terpercaya
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop